The PSI National Real Estate License Exam: Test Prep Guide cover
Book Review

The PSI National Real Estate License Exam: Test Prep Guide by Ace It Audio is your complete real estate test prep guide, designed to help you learn all of the necessary and important facts you'll need to know in order to pass the PSI NATIONAL real estate exam.

The following PSI topics are covered: 

  • Chapter 1 - Property ownership 
  • Chapter 2 - Land use controls and regulations 
  • Chapter 3 - Valuation and market analysis
  • Chapter 4 - Financing
  • Chapter 5 - General principles of agency
  • Chapter 6 - Property condition and disclosures 
  • Chapter 7 - Contracts
  • Chapter 8 - Transfer of title
  • Chapter 9 - Practice of real estate
  • Chapter 10 - Real estate calculations 
  • Chapter 11 - Specialty areas 

The audiobook also includes test-taking tips & real estate definitions.

...
Continue Reading
No One Can Hurt Him Anymore (Pinnacle True Crime) cover
Book Review

The true story of an innocent young boy whose tragic life ended in murder—and the real-life wicked stepmother who would pay for her crimes . . .
 
On May 2, 1993, in Lantana, Florida, the naked body of ten-year-old Andrew “A.J.” Schwarz was found floating face down in the family swimming pool. But authorities were quick to question the supposed drowning. How could the boy have drowned when the water level was only four feet deep? And why was his body covered with cuts and bruises from head to toe?
 
Suspicion soon fell upon A.J.’s stepmother, Jessica Schwarz—a woman who described herself as “loud and crude.” She was obviously a crass brute and a bully—but was she a torturer and child killer? The sad answer was “yes.”
 
Authorities soon uncovered a long-time pattern of physical and mental abuse that Schwartz had inflicted on the boy with such unfeeling intensity that hardened police investigators were left sickened. Even during her trials, Schwarz was smugly defiant, until convictions for criminal child abuse and second-degree murder wiped the smirk off her face . . .
 
Carol J. Rothgeb, author of Hometown Kille...
Continue Reading
Forever on the Mountain: The Truth Behind One of Mountaineering's Most Controversial and Mysterious Disasters cover
Book Review

Winner of the National Outdoor Book Award

Grand Prize Winner, Banff Mountain Book Festival



"Forever on the Mountain grips even non-climbers with its harrowing scenes of thorny relationships tested by extraordinary circumstances." —Washington Post


In 1967, seven young men, members of a twelve-man expedition led by twenty-four-year-old Joe Wilcox, were stranded at 20,000 feet on Alaska’s Mount McKinley in a vicious Arctic storm. Ten days passed while the storm raged, yet no rescue was mounted. All seven perished in what remains the most tragic expedition in American climbing history.


Revisiting the event in the tradition of Norman Maclean’s Young Men and Fire, James M. Tabor uncovers elements of controversy, finger-pointing, and cover-up that make this disaster unlike any other.

Product Description

Winner of the National Outdoor Book Award

Grand Prize Winner, Banff Mountain Book Festival



"Forever on the Mountain grips even non-climbers with its harrowing scenes of thorny relationships tested by extraordinary circumstances." —Washington P...
Continue Reading

The Road from Coorain cover
Book Review

In a memoir that pierces and delights us, Jill Ker Conway tells the story of her astonishing journey into adulthood—a journey that would ultimately span immense distances and encompass worlds, ideas, and ways of life that seem a century apart.

She was seven before she ever saw another girl child. At eight, still too small to mount her horse unaided, she was galloping miles, alone, across Coorain, her parents' thirty thousand windswept, drought-haunted acres in the Australian outback, doing a "man's job" of helping herd the sheep because World War II had taken away the able-bodied men. She loved (and makes us see and feel) the vast unpeopled landscape, beautiful and hostile, whose uncertain weathers tormented the sheep ranchers with conflicting promises of riches and inescapable disaster. She adored (and makes us know) her large-visioned father and her strong, radiant mother, who had gone willingly with him into a pioneering life of loneliness and bone-breaking toil, who seemed miraculously to succeed in creating a warmly sheltering home in the harsh outback, and who, upon her husband's sudden death when Jill was ten, began to slide—bereft of the partnership of work...
Continue Reading
#NeverAgain: A New Generation Draws the Line cover
Book Review

From two survivors of the Parkland, Florida, shooting comes a declaration for our times, and an in-depth look at the making of the #NeverAgain movement.
 
On February 14, 2018, seventeen-year-old David Hogg and his fourteen-year-old sister, Lauren, went to school at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School, like any normal Wednesday. That day, of course, the world changed. By the next morning, with seventeen classmates and faculty dead, they had joined the leadership of a movement to save their own lives, and the lives of all other young people in America. It's a leadership position they did not seek, and did not want--but events gave them no choice.

The morning after the massacre, David Hogg told CNN: "We're children. You guys are the adults. You need to take some action and play a role. Work together. Get over your politics and get something done."

This book is a manifesto for the movement begun that day, one that has already changed America--with voices of a new generation that are speaking truth to power, and are determined to succeed where their elders have failed. With moral force and clarity, a new generation has made it clear that problems pr...
Continue Reading
London Rules (Slough House) cover
Book Review

Ian Fleming. John le Carré. Len Deighton. Mick Herron. The brilliant plotting of Herron’s twice CWA Dagger Award-winning Slough House series of spy novels is matched only by his storytelling gift and an ear for viciously funny political satire.

“Mick Herron is the John le Carré of our generation.” —Val McDermid

At MI5 headquarters Regent’s Park, First Desk Claude Whelan is learning this the hard way. Tasked with protecting a beleaguered prime minister, he’s facing attack from all directions: from the showboating MP who orchestrated the Brexit vote, and now has his sights set on Number Ten; from the showboat’s wife, a tabloid columnist, who’s crucifying Whelan in print; from the PM’s favorite Muslim, who’s about to be elected mayor of the West Midlands, despite the dark secret he’s hiding; and especially from his own deputy, Lady Di Taverner, who’s alert for Claude’s every stumble. Meanwhile, the country’s being rocked by an apparently random string of terror attacks.
 
Over at Slough House, the MI5 satellite office for outcast and demoted spies, the agents are struggling with personal problems: repressed grief, vari...
Continue Reading
The Price of Privilege: How Parental Pressure and Material Advantage Are Creating a Generation of Disconnected and Unhappy Kids cover
Book Review

In this ground-breaking book on the children of affluence, a well-known clinical psychologist exposes the epidemic of emotional problems that are disabling America’s privileged youth, thanks, in large part, to normalized, intrusive parenting that stunts the crucial development of the self.

In recent years, numerous studies have shown that bright, charming, seemingly confident and socially skilled teenagers from affluent, loving families are experiencing epidemic rates of depression, substance abuse, and anxiety disorders—rates higher than in any other socioeconomic group of American adolescents. Materialism, pressure to achieve, perfectionism, and disconnection are combining to create a perfect storm that is devastating children of privilege and their parents alike.

In this eye-opening, provocative, and essential book, clinical psychologist Madeline Levine explodes one child-rearing myth after another. With empathy and candor, she identifies toxic cultural influences and well-intentioned, but misguided, parenting practices that are detrimental to a child's healthy self-development. Her thoughtful, practical advice provides solutions that ...
Continue Reading
Simple Matters: A Scandinavian’s Approach to Work, Home, and Style cover
Book Review

Simplify your home, health, and lifestyle with the help of Scandinavian minimalist sensation, Jenny Mustard.


In a beautiful collection of essays, Simple Matters challenges readers to simplify their life by prioritizing emotional and physical health, curating a personal style, and pursuing one’s dreams.

Jenny Mustard has created a unique lifestyle book that taps into the ever-increasing human longing for less clutter and more meaning, be it at home, at work, or in our relationships. By encouraging readers to make their surroundings a little more lovely, to simplify eating habits and wardrobe, to travel with purpose and ease, and to discover what they truly want to dream about and focus on, Jenny provides the inspiration to curate one’s everyday life into something simple, realistic, and utterly enjoyable. 

Simultaneously inspirational and aspirational, Jenny’s content is positive, personal, and inclusive―42 essays cover everything from simple kitchen staples, the art of the travel plan, indulgent eating, addiction, failure as a road to success, the makings of a happy relationship, the red thread, building a career, and the Scandinav...
Continue Reading