Contemporary Sport Management-5th Edition With Web Study Guide cover
Book Review

Contemporary Sport Management, Fifth Edition With Web Study Guide, provides students with an overview of sport management by presenting extensive discussions of the foundational aspects of the profession and current topics from the field. The fifth edition continues to engage students with a full-color format and an integrated web study guide. The text also discusses the role of social media in revolutionizing the industry and the significance of sport as an international institution. Students will learn the relevance of legal, sociocultural, historical, political, and psychological concepts to the management of sport; the professional skills and attitudes of successful sport managers; and ways in which the globalization of sport continues to affect sport management professions.

One of the top-selling textbooks in the field, the fifth edition retains many of its popular learning tools for students and also offers several key additions:

Social media sidebars in every chapter prepare future sport managers to confront some of the unique challenges and opportunities of this growing phenomenon.

Pro...
Continue Reading

How to Sail Around the World: Advice and Ideas for Voyaging Under Sail (International Marine-RMP) cover
Book Review

A new classic from one of the world's most respected sailing authors

More than 35 years ago, Hal Roth quit his job as a journalist and went sailing. Since then, he's logged more than 200,000 sea miles. Along the way, Roth also has authored eight voyaging classics, including the 1978 bestseller After 50,000 Miles.

Taking that book as its starting point, this handsome new volume incorporates the new technologies and discoveries of the last quarter century along with another 150,000 miles of experience.

A compendium of mature, time-tested sea wisdom from one of the world's most respected sailing writers, How to Sail Around the World will tell the reader:

  • How to choose and equip a sailboat for long-distance cruising, with an emphasis on simplicity and a modest budget
  • How to plan and conduct a voyage anywhere in the world
  • How to master the arts of navigation, anchoring, and daily life aboard in exotic places
  • How to cope with storms at sea--the most complete and authoritative treatise on this critical topic ever published
...
Continue Reading
Jiu-jitsu Unleashed: A Comprehensive Guide to the World’s Hottest Martial Arts Discipline (NTC Sports/Fitness) cover
Book Review

An introduction to jiu-jitsu from one of its most dominant stars



Thanks to the dominance of its practitioners at Ultimate Fighting Championships and other mixed martial arts tournaments, jiu-jitsu has become one of the most popular forms of martial arts in the United States. This fighting technique features ground fighting and submission moves that bewilder even the most ferocious opponents.



In Jiu-Jitsu Unleashed, expert Eddie Bravo teaches you the moves that he used to defeat legendary Royler Gracie--a member of the reigning family of jiujitsu--the victory that made him one of the sport's most feared competitors. Jiu-Jitsu Unleashed features:



  • Detailed instruction on stance, kicks, punches, takedowns, and submissions


  • Step-by-step photos of basic and advanced moves modeled by "Fear Factor" host and former "NewsRadio" star Joe Rogan


  • Various theories and strategies behind training and competing


...
Continue Reading
Sailing Skills & Seamanship, BOOK cover

Sailing Skills & Seamanship, BOOK html

Pdf background Amazon button
Book Review

Learn the essentials of sailing and seamanship from one of the world’s premier boating organizations

Since 1978, Sailing Skills and Seamanship has been the required manual for students in the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary’s esteemed sail-training programs. Now this exclusive handbok is available for the first time to every beginning and intermediate sailor. It is your thorough introduction to recreational sailing’s fundamentals, from choosing the right sailboat to knowing the rules of the nautical road and everything in between.

Discover the answers to all your questions on:

  • Essential equipment, both required and recommended
  • Docking and anchoring
  • Sailing fundamentals
  • Tuning your sailboat’s rigging for best performance
  • Knots, splices, and line handling
  • Operating and maintaining outboard or inboard engines
  • Navigation and the rules of the nautical road
  • Boat handling and seamanship on coastal and inland waters
  • Trailering a sailboat
  • Marine weather and marine communications
  • And much more!

Approved by the National Association ...
Continue Reading

High-Intensity Training the Mike Mentzer Way (NTC Sports/Fitness) cover

High-Intensity Training the Mike Mentzer Way (NTC Sports/Fitness) html

Pdf background Amazon button
Book Review

A PAPERBACK ORIGINAL

High-intensity bodybuilding advice from the first man to win a perfect score in the Mr. Universe competition

This one-of-a-kind book profiles the high-intensity training (HIT) techniques pioneered by the late Mike Mentzer, the legendary bodybuilder, leading trainer, and renowned bodybuilding consultant. His highly effective, proven approach enables bodybuilders to get results--and win competitions--by doing shorter, less frequent workouts each week. Extremely time-efficient, HIT sessions require roughly 40 minutes per week of training--as compared with the lengthy workout sessions many bodybuilders would expect to put in daily.

In addition to sharing Mentzer's workout and training techniques, featured here is fascinating biographical information and striking photos of the world-class bodybuilder--taken by noted professional bodybuilding photographers--that will inspire and instruct serious bodybuilders and weight lifters everywhere.

Product Description

A PAPERBACK ORIGINAL

High-intensity bodybuilding advice from the first man to win a perfect score in the Mr. Universe competition<...
Continue Reading

The Backpacker's Handbook, 4th Edition (International Marine-RMP) cover
Book Review

What you need to know before you hit the trails



Whether you are backpacking for the first time or a veteran follower of the trails, this enormously practical guide includes everything you need to know, from essential techniques such as map and compass work to the skills needed for more remote wilderness journeys. The Backpacker's Handbook also gives you the latest information on gear. You'll find the last word on:



  • How to choose packs and footwear—and make sure they fit


  • What clothing to take on the trail


  • Tents, tarps, stoves, water purifiers, and other gear


  • GPS, cell phones, and other electronic devices


  • And much more




Reviews from previous editions

"The most up-to-date and comprehensive guide to equipment and technique available anywhere."

--Backpack (UK)

"A clear and comprehensive primer on backpacking gear. Townsend's knowledge is immense."

--Sierra

"Belongs in every bookcase dealing with outdoor topics. . . . Chockablo...
Continue Reading

George R. R. Martin's A Game of Thrones 5-Book Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire Series): A Game of Thrones, A Clash of Kings, A Storm of Swords, A Feast for Crows, and A Dance with Dragons cover
Book Review

For the first time, all five novels in the epic fantasy series that inspired HBO’s Game of Thrones are together in one eBook bundle. An immersive entertainment experience unlike any other, A Song of Ice and Fire has earned George R. R. Martin—dubbed “the American Tolkien” by Time magazine—international acclaim and millions of loyal readers. Now this bundle collects the entire monumental cycle in the most convenient format available:
 
A GAME OF THRONES
A CLASH OF KINGS
A STORM OF SWORDS
A FEAST FOR CROWS
A DANCE WITH DRAGONS
 
“One of the best series in the history of fantasy.”—Los Angeles Times
 
Winter is coming. Such is the stern motto of House Stark, the northernmost of the fiefdoms that owe allegiance to King Robert Baratheon in far-off King’s Landing. There Eddard Stark of Winterfell rules in Robert’s name. There his family dwells in peace and comfort: his proud wife, Catelyn; his sons Robb, Brandon, and Rickon; his daughters Sansa and Arya; and his bastard son, Jon Snow. Far to the north, behind the towering Wall, lie savage Wildings and worse—...
Continue Reading
An Echo of Things to Come (The Licanius Trilogy) cover
Book Review

The second book in the acclaimed Licanius Trilogy by James Islington.

"Love The Wheel of Time? This is about to become your new favorite series." - B&N SF & Fantasy Blog

"Fans of Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson will find much to admire." - Guardian

In the wake of a devastating attack, an amnesty has been declared for all Augurs-finally allowing them to emerge from hiding and openly oppose the dark forces massing against the land of Andarra. As the Augur Davian and his new allies hurry north toward the ever-weakening Boundary, however, fresh horrors along their path suggest that their reprieve may have come far too late.

His ally in the Capital, the new Northwarden, contends with assassins and politicians, and uncovers a dangerous political secret. Meanwhile, their compatriot Asha begins a secret investigation into the disappearance of the Shadows.

And Caeden races against time to fulfill his treacherous bargain with the Lyth, but as more and more of his memories return, he beg...
Continue Reading