Start the Fire: How I Began A Food Revolution In America cover
Book Review


Newly revised and reissued to coincide with The Last Magnificent, a documentary feature produced by Anthony Bourdain, the indelible and entertaining memoir from Jeremiah Tower which chronicles life at the front lines of redefining modern American cuisine.

Widely recognized as the godfather of modern American cooking, Jeremiah Tower is one of the most influential cooks of the last forty years. In 2004, he rocked the culinary world with a tell-all story of his lifelong love affair with food, and the restaurants and people along the way.

In this newly revised edition of his memoir, retitled Start the Fire, Tower shares with wit and honesty his insights into cooking, chefs, celebrities, and what really goes on in the kitchen. Above all, Tower rhapsodizes about food—the meals choreographed like great ballets, the menus scored like concertos. No other book reveals more about the seeds sown in the seventies, the excesses of the eighties, and the self-congratulations of the nineties.

With a new introduction by the author, Start the Fire is an essential...
Continue Reading

Pizza Camp: Recipes from Pizzeria Beddia cover
Book Review

Pizza Camp is the ultimate guide to achieving pizza nirvana at home, from the chef who is making what Bon Appetit magazine calls “the best pizza in America.”
Joe Beddia’s pizza is old school—it’s all about the dough, the sauce, and the cheese. And after perfecting his pie-making craft at Pizzeria Beddia in Philadelphia, he’s offering his methods and recipes in a cookbook that’s anything but old school. Beginning with D’OH, SAUCE, CHEESE, and BAKING basics, Beddia takes you through the pizza-making process, teaching the foundation for making perfectly crisp, satisfyingly chewy, dangerously addictive pies at home.
With more than fifty iconic and new recipes, Pizza Camp delivers everything you’ll need to make unforgettable and inventive pizza, stromboli, hoagies, and more, with plenty of vegetarian options (because even the most die-hard pizza lovers can’t eat pizza every day). In this book you will find pizza combinations that have gained his pizzeria a cult following, alongside brand new recipes like:
--Bintje Potato with Cream and Rosemary
--Collard Greens with Bacon and Cream
--Roasted Corn with Heirloom Cher...
Continue Reading
Low Carb High Fat Cooking for Healthy Aging: 70 Easy and Delicious Recipes to Promote Vitality and Longevity cover
Book Review

Oftentimes, the so-called diseases of affluence, like diabetes or high blood pressure, are due to improper diet as you age. By eating food with fewer carbohydrates and more fat, you can maintain a normal weight and become free of the symptoms of, for example, fibromyalgia, irritable bowel syndrome (enteritis), chronic fatigue syndrome, and sleep disorders.

Low Carb High Fat Cooking for Seniors contains over 70 easy-to-prepare recipes for those who want hearty and nutritious food that makes you feel as good as possible. Recipes center around healthy, Low Carb High Fat (LCHF) staple ingredients, like butter, cream, crème fraîche, eggs, coconut oil, olive oil or canola oil (cold pressed), nuts and almonds, and cheese, and are suitable as breakfast, snacks, entire meals, or tidbits at teatime. Recipes include:
Almond Waffles
Buckwheat Porridge
Spinach Soup with Bacon
Salmon and Cauliflower Casserole
Lingonberry Ice Cream
Chocolate-Covered Macaroons
An much more!

Birgitta Höglund is a trained chef and has long posted on her popular blog, Birgitta Höglund’s Food (Birgitta Höglund’s Mat). She has personal experience following an LC...
Continue Reading
Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat: Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking cover
Book Review

New York Times Bestseller

Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by NPR, Buzzfeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies,, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more.

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; ...
Continue Reading
Quick & Easy Thai: 70 Everyday Recipes cover
Book Review

Now busy home cooks can bring the fantastic flavors of Thai cuisine into the kitchen with a simple trip to the grocery store. Nancie McDermott, experienced cook, teacher, and author of the best-selling cookbook Real Thai, presents this collection of 70 delicious recipes that focus on easy-to-find ingredients and quick cooking methods to whip up traditional Thai. With recipes like Crying Tiger Grilled Beef, Grilled Shrimp and Scallops with Lemongrass, Sticky Rice with Mangoes, and Thai Iced Tea, along with McDermott's highly practical array of shortcuts, substitutions, and time-saving techniques, anyone can prepare home-cooked authentic Thai meals—as often as they like....
Continue Reading
The Whole Coconut Cookbook: Vibrant Dairy-Free, Gluten-Free Recipes Featuring Nature's Most Versatile Ingredient cover
Book Review

This beautiful and inspiring recipe collection helps you incorporate nature’s perfect superfood—the coconut—into your everyday cooking. From tangy coconut yogurt for breakfast to creamy coconut curry for dinner, The Whole Coconut Cookbook showcases infinite ways to enjoy this nutrition-packed fruit.    

With all of their creamy goodness and adaptability, coconuts are an indispensable ingredient in many recipes, from smoothies and curries to cakes and salads. Moreover, they are an incredible superfood, providing essential nutrients and healthy fats in recipes that are naturally gluten-free and dairy-free. In The Whole Coconut Cookbook, this amazing fruit is celebrated in all its glory, from the familiar coconut water, coconut oil, and sugar, to creamy coconut milk and coconut aminos. These ingredients shine in delicious recipes like Coconut, Ginger, and Cilantro Mussels; Coconut Sesame Noodles with Baby Bok Choy and Tamarind Dressing; Spicy Coconut Chips; and Coconut Orange Cookies. With a primer on the different parts of the fruit and a guide for using fresh coconuts at home, this beautiful book is perfect for anyone looking to incorporate t...
Continue Reading
Sally's Cookie Addiction: Irresistible Cookies, Cookie Bars, Shortbread, and More from the Creator of Sally's Baking Addiction cover
Book Review

Bake the perfect cookies, bars, and doughs perfectly every time with Sally's Cookie Addiction.

Are you ready to sink your teeth into Brown Butter Toffee Chocolate Chip Cookies? How about Peanut Butter Nutella Swirl Cookies or Pumpkin Spice Sugar Cookies? Featuring a mouthwatering selection of cookies, cookie bars, cookie dough dips, slice-and-bakes, no-bakes, and more, Sally's Cookie Addiction features dozens of exciting flavors, including chocolate, butterscotch, peanut butter, sugar, coconut, lemon, s’more, and oatmeal, oh my!
The best part? Sally will tell you how to make each and every cookie in the book ahead of time. So, if you want to start preparing for the holidays, or if you just like keeping cookie dough in your freezer for those critical cookie emergencies, now you can have dozens of make-ahead cookie recipes at your fingertips.
Complete with tips on how to bake the perfect cookie and gorgeous photography, Sally's Cookie Addiction is the only cookie book you need on your shelf. Get ready for your kitchen to be the most popular room in the house while the smells of W...
Continue Reading
SQL in 10 Minutes, Sams Teach Yourself (4th Edition) cover
Book Review

Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes, Fourth Edition

New full-color code examples help you see how SQL statements are structured

Whether you're an application developer, database administrator, web application designer, mobile app developer, or Microsoft Office users, a good working knowledge of SQL is an important part of interacting with databases. And Sams Teach Yourself SQL in 10 Minutes offers the straightforward, practical answers you need to help you do your job.

Expert trainer and popular author Ben Forta teaches you just the parts of SQL you need to know–starting with simple data retrieval and quickly going on to more complex topics including the use of joins, subqueries, stored procedures, cursors, triggers, and table constraints.

You'll learn methodically, systematically, and simply–in 22 short, quick lessons that will each take only 10 ...
Continue Reading