Fifty Places to Hike Before You Die: Outdoor Experts Share the World's Greatest Destinations cover
Book Review

Fifty Places to Hike Before You Die is the latest offering in the bestselling Fifty Places series. Chris Santella, along with top expedition leaders, explores the world’s greatest walking adventures. Some, such as the Lunana Snowman Trek in Bhutan and the Kangshung Valley Trek in Tibet, are grueling multiweek adventures at high altitudes. Others, such as Japan’s Nakesando Trail, move leisurely from village to village, allowing walkers to immerse themselves in the local culture. Whether it’s climbing the Rwandan mountains to view mountain gorillas or strolling through bistros along Italy’s Amalfi Coast, there’s a memorable hike at everyone’s level within these 50 chapters. With commentaries from expert trekkers and insider tips that lead the reader off the beaten path, Santella has again captured the special characteristics that make these must-visit destinations.

...
Continue Reading
The Next Together cover
Book Review

Katherine and Matthew are destined to be born again and again, century after century. Each time they are total strangers thrust together under unusual circumstances. Each time their presence changes history for the better. And each time they fall hopelessly in love, only to be tragically separated.

Why does fate keep bringing them together to save the world, and what must they achieve before they can finally be left to love in peace? Maybe the next together will be different. . . .

Told in parallel time streams through a mixture of prose, diary entries, letters, “original” historical documents, news reports, and Internet articles, and spanning the Crimean War, the Siege of Carlisle and the near-future of 2019 and 2039, The Next Together is a glittering, sweeping story of time travel, fate, and the power of first love for fans of Outlander, Passenger (Disney), and The Girl from Everywhere (Harper).
...
Continue Reading
Star Wars: Obi-Wan & Anakin (Obi-Wan & Anakin (2016)) cover
Book Review

Collects Obi-Wan and Anakin #1-5.

Before their military heroism in the Clone Wars, before their tragic battle on Mustafar and many decades before their final confrontation on the Death Star, they were Master Obi-Wan Kenobi and his young Padawan, Anakin Skywalker. Now join them a few years into Anakin's, "chosen one" training. Teacher and student have grown closer over time, but it's been a difficult road. And things aren't about to get any easier. In fact, when they're called to a remote planet for assistance, the pair may be pushed to their breaking point. As they find themselves stranded on a strange world of primitive technology and deadly natives, will they be able to save themselves? When war breaks out around them, master and apprentice will find themselves on opposite sides!...
Continue Reading
Star Wars: Poe Dameron Vol. 1: Black Squadron (Star Wars: Poe Dameron (2016-)) cover
Book Review

Collects Poe Dameron #1-6.

Poe Dameron, former Republic flyer turned Resistance fighter, is the best pilot in the galaxy. Hand-picked for the resistance by General Leia Organa to lead a squadron on a top-secret and vital mission, Poe sets off to investigate sites of historical importance to the Force — revealing backstory leading directly into The Force Awakens! Follow Poe and his X-Wing squadron on covert missions against the First Order, brought to you by writer Charles Soule (STAR WARS: LANDO, DAREDEVIL) and artist Phil Noto (STAR WARS: CHEWBACCA, BLACK WIDOW)!...
Continue Reading
Star Wars: Poe Dameron Vol. 2: The Gathering Storm (Star Wars: Poe Dameron (2016-)) cover
Book Review

Collects Star Wars: Poe Dameron #8-13.

Continuing the adventures of the ace-pilot hero of Star Wars: The Force Awakens! Poe Dameron faces the wrath of a vengeful Agent Terex! But how does Terex always seem to know what Black Squadron is doing? Could there truly be a traitor in the Squadron’s midst? Poe will undertake a secret mission from General Leia Organa herself: to escort none other than C-3PO on a dangerous journey to the planet Kaddak! Can they complete the mission and keep their key informant intact? Or will Terex’s past somehow come back to haunt them? Join Poe and Threepio as they take on the First Order!...
Continue Reading
Star Wars: Doctor Aphra Vol. 1: Aphra (Star Wars: Doctor Aphra (2016-)) cover
Book Review

Collects Doctor Aphra #1-6.

Following her time in the clutches of Darth Vader, Doctor Aphra has barely escaped with her life. If the Dark Lord of the Sith ever learns of her survival, he’ll hunt her to the ends of the galaxy. But for now, it’s time for a return to what she does best. With droids Triple-Zero and BeeTee-One in tow, she’s off in search of rare artifacts from the galactic center to the Outer Rim — and everywhere in between. Aphra’s got debts to pay, after all. Just as long as she can stay one step ahead of the Empire, some bounty hunters…and just about everyone else in the galaxy!...
Continue Reading
The Giver Quartet boxed set cover
Book Review

Now a major motion picture starring Jeff Bridges, Meryl Streep, Katie Holmes, Taylor Swift, Alexander Skarsgard, and Brenton Thwaites

 
This boxed set includes the complete Newbery Medal–winning Giver Quartet series: The Giver, Gathering Blue, Messenger, and Son. In addition, it includes a new and exclusive map of the Giver world. Enter this dystopian, futuristic world through all four of these refreshed hardcovers on a page-turning dystopian journey that concludes the masterpiece The Giver started twenty years ago. A great deal and the perfect gift for a fan's library! 
 
     For more information about Lois Lowry's Giver Quartet, visit www.hmhbooks.com/thegiverquartet.

...
Continue Reading
New England Patriots Trivia Quiz Book: 500 Questions on Foxboro's Finest cover
Book Review

Think you know about the New England Patriots? Put your knowledge to the test with this selection of quizzes on Foxboro’s finest. The book covers the whole history of the franchise, from the early days in Boston through to the glorious Belichick era and the amazing Super Bowl LI triumph against the Falcons. The biggest names in Patriots history are present and correct so look out for questions on Tom Brady, Julian Edelman, Gronk, Tedy Bruschi, Andre Tippett, Stanley Morgan and many, many more. Each quiz contains a selection of 20 questions and is either a mixed bag of pot luck testers or is centered on a specific category such as the 1990s or defense. There are easy, medium and hard questions offering something for New England novices as well as professors of Patriots history. Which Patriot was a member of the Team USA rugby squad at the 2016 Olympics in Rio? Which three members of New England’s 2016 roster had brothers who also played in the NFL that year? Who is the Patriots’ all-time leader in sacks? Which unlikely receiver caught 10 passes as a Patriot, each of which was for a one or two-yard touchdown? Find out the answers to these and many more questions i...
Continue Reading